Purple Rain

Prince’s death was devastating, period.

I hadn’t listened to his famous lyrics in yeeeeears… other than the occasional muzak-type melody that came across the speakers while shopping.  When news of his death swept across Facebook on April 21, 2016, I had a sinking feeling, along with a flood of flashbacks that rolled through my mind.

1986.  I was ten years old.  Cool enough to be taken under the wing of my Aunt Michelle and her friend, Lori; hanging out in her bedroom plastered with posters of all the great rock stars of that time.  Prince was no exception.  It was crimped side ponytails, leg warmers & parachute pants.  It was dress up & pose for pictures (pre iPhones), it was the Le Click days.  Playing on the record player, in the background, was 1999.

Boy, oh boy, we didn’t think that year would ever get here!  1999.  It was the time we thought would be futuristic.  Vinyl records led to 8-tracks & cassettes, then cds – what would 1999 hold in store for us?  I know I certainly never envisioned MP3 digital music files.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 7.42.07 PM

I glanced at my phone while I was out running errands.  I see that Prince has died at age 57 and I just paused.  I went out to iTunes and immediately purchased The Very Best of Prince.  The best purchase this year!  I have had the songs playing for hours on end, ever since.  With each song, a bunch of emotions & memories come flooding back.  I Wanna Be Your Lover… I didn’t even know what that meant back in the day, but I knew know every word.

 Little Red Corvette.  I mustarded my way through the melody, because I never did know those words. ha ha ha

Raspberry Beret.

“…That’s when I saw her, ooh, I saw her
She walked in through the out door, out door
She wore a
Raspberry beret
The kind you find in a second hand store
Raspberry beret
And if it was warm she wouldn’t wear much more
Raspberry beret
I think I love her…”

When Doves Cry.  The steel guitar at the beginning of that song, along with the drums… you can’t help but bounce to the beat!

“Dig if you will the picture
You and I engaged in a kiss…”  Sing it with me

Let’s Go Crazy.  “Dearly beloved, we are gathered here today to get through this thing called life.”  Seriously, who DOESN’T know this one?!?!?

Kiss.  “You don’t have to be beautiful
To turn me on…”  “…Ain’t no particular sign I’m more compatible with
I just want your extra time and your [Muah muah muah muah muah] Kiss.”  Julia Roberts did it best in the movie, Pretty Woman.  If you haven’t seen it, you’ve either been living under a rock or you’re just too young and for the ladder, I have to admit that I’m old & I refuse!  So, if you haven’t seen Pretty Woman, you live under a rock.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 8.26.15 PM

I Would Die For You.  Surely you know the sign language for that song?!?!?

“…I’m not your lover
I’m not your friend
I am something that you’ll never comprehend
No need to worry
No need to cry
I’m your messiah and you’re the reason why
‘Cause you, I would die for you, yeah
Darling if you want me to
You, I would die for you…”

You Got the Look.  “…You’ve got the look, you’ve got the hook
U sho’nuf do be cookin’ in my book
Your face is jammin’
Your body’s heck-a-slammin’
If love is good, let’s get 2 rammin’
U got the look, U got the look”

And last, but certainly not last… <tears are welling in my eyes>  Purple Rain.  I hear the solo guitar intro now…

“…I never meant to cause you any sorrow
I never meant to cause you any pain
I only wanted to one time to see you laughing
I only wanted to see you
Laughing in the purple rain
Purple rain, purple rain
Purple rain, purple rain
Purple rain, purple rain
I only wanted to see you
Bathing in the purple rain…”
 Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 7.46.53 PM
1985, in all his Glory… belting out Purple Rain: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qsdR8eycRys
April 21st was a very sad day.  While his musical melodies play out in my mind, with flashbacks of my childhood (good & bad), I will never forget, the one, the only… Prince.
Sadly, I never got the opportunity to see Prince in concert.  These images are from google photos.
Leave a Reply

